The Minister of Māori Development Hon Nanaia Mahuta, issued the Maihi Karauna - the Crown's Māori Language Strategy - during Te Matatini 2019.

A key part of the strategy is about language planning and the target that all public service departments will have language plans in place by 2021.

The Maihi Karauna sets the course for Te Taura Whiri i te reo Māori in the years ahead as it takes up its new role to lead in the co-ordination of the implementation of the Maihi Karauna.

The Maihi Karauna complements the Maihi Maori, the revitalisation strategy of iwi and Māori. The key aim of Maihi Karauna is to create an environment in which Maihi Māori has the greatest opportunity for success. The Maihi Māori is developed, issued and implemented by Te Mātāwai, a representative body of Māori.

A ‘maihi’ is a ‘bargeboard’ at the front of a carved house. In this case the metaphorical house is ‘Te Whare o te Reo Mauri Ora’ – a way of explaining the active partnership between Māori and the Crown for revitalisation.

Maihi Karauna is developed and issued by the Minister for Māori Development. It is implemented by Crown agencies and coordinated by Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori. Maihi Māori and Maihi Karauna each target the key language planning elements of: 

  • Status – people value te reo Māori
  • Critical awareness – people know te reo Māori is endangered and their role in revitalisation
  • Acquisition – people are learning te reo Māori
  • Use – people read, write and speak and comprehend te reo Māori in many places and circumstances (domains)
  • Corpus – the right words and terms are available for all circumstances (quality is a part of this)

The Role of Lead Agencies in the Maihi Karauna

 Te Mātāwai

Established under Te Ture mō te Reo Māori 2016 (The Māori Language Act 2016) to lead revitalisation of te reo Māori on behalf of iwi and Māori.  Te Mātāwai has 13 members, seven appointed by iwi, four appointed by reo tukutuku (Māori language stakeholder) organisations and two appointed by the Minister for Māori Development.

Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori

Leading the co-ordination of the implementation of the Maihi Karauna (section 40 of Te Ture mō te Reo Māori)

Te Puni Kōkiri 

Te Puni Kōkiri leads across government in Policy development and Evaluation for te reo Māori.

Te Māngai Pāho and Whakaata Māori (Māori Television)

Te Māngai Paho (which funds Māori radio) and Whakaata Māori (Māori Television) create broadcast, online, learning and performance domains for the Māori language.

Te Tāhuhu o te Mātauranga (Ministry of Education)

The Ministry leads and ensures effective management of the Crown's investment in Māori language acquisition through formal learning from pre-school to tertiary in both Māori and English medium settings.

Manatū Taonga (The Ministry for Culture and Heritage) 

The Ministry for Culture and Heritage promotes a confident and connected culture in New Zealand and supports organisations and provides advice to government and information to people.  As part of this it promotes and upholds te reo Māori and its place in our modern life and history.

Te Tari Taiwhenua (Department of Internal Affairs)

The Department of Internal Affairs supports the Māori language across its range of activities and is home to Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa (National Library including the Alexander Turnbull Library) and Rua Mahara o te Kawanatanga (Archives New Zealand).  These enduring cultural institutions hold enormous resources of written and recorded Māori language which is actively sought out by Māori language experts and scholars.  Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa (National Library) leads and supports the whole New Zealand library sector which provides active support and resources promoting the Māori language.